Yarn to Spin

Talking out of both sides of my mouth…and knitting sometimes.

Stitch, Stitch, and Repeat

Leave a comment

I’m due up for a new post, though there isn’t much to report on my progress. I’ve definitely been making some, but of course it just looks like more of the same rows and stitches, i.e. not very interesting. I haven’t been working on it as much as I would like, what with work, and family, and general laziness, but overall I am satisfied with the improvements I’ve made.

Here’s my WIP scarf as modeled by the lovely Riku.

Like she’s looking into your soul.

While procrastinating, I checked out this Ravelry place you all speak of so fondly.


My account name is yarntospin8.  Add me as a friend if you like! I especially like all the cute little animal graphics. I can see how when I get better that this will be a great resource, but for now even the simplest project looks out of my league. Master the knit stitch and then the purl first before trying for anything more. For future ambitions though, if anyone has any recommendations for some easy beginner patterns (preferably free!) from Ravelry, I’d love to hear them.

Another thing I’ve learned is that I’m not yet good enough to watch TV/movies while knitting and give enough attention to either. Music, on the other hand, is great. If you don’t have satellite radio, I highly recommend it and it will spoil you for choice. Knitting gives you the opportunity to listen closely to all those songs that have been background noise over the years and rediscover old loves as well as the new. Luckily, no one but Riku is usually around to see me getting teary eyed over my yarn when a song I haven’t heard in years strikes a particular chord.

As a word of warning to others, I’ve also discovered wine and knitting don’t mix. Or maybe I just haven’t ascended to that stage yet. I will have to experiment later, all in the name of science and discovery of course.

And since I know everyone in the world loves seeing her as much as I do, here’s another picture of Riku for the road.

What?

What indeed.

Author: yarntospin

Knitting together my life one stitch at a time.

Leave a comment